Character Counts:
  •  In 1992, a gathering of experts in ethics and character education researched to find ways to work together, primarily by developing a common language of core ethical values that transcend religious, political and socioeconomic differences.  the result is Character Counts, which identified the values we now call the Six Pillars of Character — trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship. Read more about the Six Pillars »


  • Six Pillars:
    • Trustworhiness
    • Respect
    • Responsibility
    • Fairness
    • Caring
    • Citizenship


Videos on Character:

For Character Videos - Check out the character these individuals display!

Values - Inspirational Stories and TV Commercials displaying character.


Links: - The Foundation for a Better Life!

List of Values - Quotes, Pictures, and Descriptions of each Value...

For Character - Creating Schools and Communites of Character.

Character Counts - The Six Pillars Each and every one of us should live by!






To laugh often and much;
to win the respect of intelligent people
and the affection of children;
to earn the appreciation of honest critics
and endure the betrayal of false friends;
to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others;
to leave the world a bit better,
whether by a healthy child,
a garden patch
or a redeemed social condition;
to know even one life has breathed easier
because you have lived.
This is to have succeeded.


-Ralph Waldo Emerson


Return to Homepage

©Scott E. Engle -